Testimonies

Our students are the heart and soul of our mission here at the Dominican University College Foundation. Hence, every donation contributes to their fullfillment.


Jeff Jakubec

« I wanted to express my gratitude for the entrance scholarship I received from the Dominican University College Foundation. This scholarship has allowed my young family and I a respite from the economic necessities of life, allowing me to concentrate on my work in environmental ethics and self-alienation.

One cannot achieve high goals without time, and this scholarship affords me the time to not only better myself, but, hopefully, our community as well by way of my research and work.

I am truly grateful for the support the Foundation has shown me since arriving at Dominican University College, and I think this scholarship exemplifies the values of the College itself. I hope my work extends the College’s mission beyond the boundaries of DUC, perhaps making our world slightly better ».


Gabriela Turmel

« I am one of the students following the liturgical and sacramental course at the Dominican University College. This course has been a real pleasure for me to follow, as it has allowed me to extend my knowledge in the liturgy of the Word, as well as providing me with spiritual depth.

The knowledge I have acquired during the first year of this course has allowed me to have a better understanding of the importance of every moment during a celebation. The significance and the symbolism of the celebrations made me see the liturgy of the Word in a whole different way. This has inspired me to play with space and anchor our dominical celebrations to better reflect our daily lives, such that all the members of the assembly can experience an enhanced moment of communion during our celebrations. I feel now that I am more capable to better contribute to the preparation of our celebrations.

There are still three parts to this course I still have to take during the year, but I am very excited to continue my learnings. I also look forward to meet up with my classmates, with whom we developped a fraternal environment. My classmates are from all sorts of different backgrounds, pastoral agents, clerics, nuns, lays and as well as priests. Such a diversity has been very rewarding for me. I feel like I get to learn a lot from them. More importantly, we all feel that we benefit from the content of this course which is of high academic quality ».

Témoignages

Les étudiants sont au cœur de la mission de la Fondation du Collège universitaire dominicain. Chaque don contribue à leurs épanouissements.


Jeff Jakubec

« Je voudrais exprimer toute ma gratitude envers la Fondation du Collège universitaire dominicain pour la bourse d’entrée au M.A. en philosophie que j’ai reçue. Cette bourse a permis, à ma jeune famille et moi-même de prendre une pause des contraintes financières de la vie quotidienne, me permettant ainsi de me concentrer sur ma recherche en éthique de l’environnement.

Il est difficile d’atteindre des objectifs élevés sans temps, et cette bourse d’entrée m’a accordé le temps nécessaire, non seulement pour m’améliorer, mais aussi pour bénéficier de la communauté académique qui m’entoure et qui contribue à mon épanouissement dans mon travail de recherche.

Je suis vraiment heureux et honoré du soutien que la Fondation m’offre depuis mon arrivée au Collège universitaire dominicain et je pense que cette bourse démontre les valeurs du Collège lui-même. J’espère que mon travail est dans la continuité de la mission du Collège et va au-delà de ses frontières, contribuant ainsi à faire de notre monde un meilleur endroit ».


Gabriela Turmel

« Je suis l’une des étudiantes du Parcours de formation liturgique et sacramentelle du Collège universitaire dominicain. C’est une réelle joie pour moi d’avoir accès à ce cours, qui développe autant mes connaissances de la liturgie que mon vécu spirituel.

Les apprentissages que j’ai faits au cours de la première année du parcours me permettent de mieux comprendre l’importance de chaque moment d’une célébration, des moments sur lesquels il se doit de mettre un accent particulier et le sens théologique derrière les différents symboles dans une liturgie. Cela m’a donné des idées quant à l’aménagement de l’espace afin d’ancrer la célébration dans l’actualité et le quotidien, dans le but que les membres de l’assemblée vivent une expérience priante durant la liturgie. Je me sens maintenant plus crédible et capable de contribuer à la préparation de messes.

Il reste encore trois sections du parcours pour cette année, et j’ai très hâte de continuer mes apprentissages. J’ai aussi hâte de retrouver le groupe, au sein duquel s’est très vite formé un climat de fraternité. Parmi mes collègues de classe, il y a des agents de pastorales, des religieuses, des laïcs et des prêtres. C’est très enrichissant pour moi d’avoir accès à leur expérience, mais je sens qu’eux aussi profitent tout autant que moi du contenu qui est d’une haute qualité académique ».