Ongoing Projects

The Dominican University College Fondation currently supports the Dominican University College in the realisation of the following projects :

Head Start Project

It has been said that children, as well as teenagers are curious, that they ask questions, that they wish to understand how things work. Constantly rediscovering their surroundings, while trying to engage in relationships with their peers, children try to understand and find themselves in a world in motion. Children are not dogmatic, nor sceptic and not even cynic… They are, most of the time not satisfied with the response we give them. They navigate the world accepting authority while questionning it all at the same time. In one word, they are ‘critical thinkers’. Philosophers …

At the Dominican University College, we believe that teaching philosophy to our youth is essential, as most of the time, in Quebec and Ontario, philosophy is not taught in middle or high school.

The Head Start Project therefore responds to a need children and teenagers develop and by introducing them to the study of philosophy, we challenge their critical thinking skills, while encouraging the exchange of ideas, engaging them in a quest for the truth …

Read More …

Library Project

Located in the heart of the Saint John the Baptist convent, the library of the Dominican University College, a library specialized in philosophy and theology, is an ideal place to read, study and conduct one’s research.

With more than 130 000 volumes and more than 400 academic journals allocated on five floors, the space dedicaded to the Dominican University College library is now full and has trouble responding to the needs of the students, professeurs and researchers of the College.

The objective of the Library Project is to preserve traditionnal book collections of the 15th to the 18th century as well as making them more available by restoring them.

Read More …

Projets en Cours

La Fondation du Collège universitaire dominicain a pour mission de soutenir le Collège Universitaire Dominicain dans les réalisation des projets suivant :

Projet Longueur d’Avance

On dit des enfants et des adolescents qu’ils sont curieux, qu’ils posent des questions, qu’ils désirent savoir le « quoi », le « comment », le « pourquoi » des choses. Découvrant ce qui les entoure, tentant de s’y inscrire et d’entrer en relation avec choses et personnes, réagissant passionnément à ce qui leur arrive, manquant de mots… ils cherchent à comprendre, à s’y retrouver ! Ils ne sont ni dogmatiques, ni sceptique, ni cyniques… Ils ne se contentent pas des premières réponses qu’ils reçoivent ou qu’ils se forgent. Ils oscillent entre l’acceptation d’une autorité et sa mise à la question. En un mot, ils ont une disposition critique. Ils philosophent …

Au Collège universitaire dominicain, nous désirons affiner ce talent, car en Ontario et au Québec, la philosophie, le plus souvent, n’est pas enseignée dans les écoles secondaires.

Le Projet Longueur d’Avance réponds à ce besoin en initiant les enfants et les jeunes à la philosophie en développant leur pensée critique, en encourageant l’échange des idées, et en les engageant dans une quête de vérité à travers des ateliers et activités diverses.

Lire la suite …

Projet de Bibliothèque

Située dans l’ancien choeur des dominicains du Couvent Saint Jean Baptiste, la bibliothèque du Collège universitaire dominicain, spécialisée en philosophie et en théologie, est un endroit propice à la lecture, l’étude et la recherche.

Comprenant plus de 130 000 volumes et plus de 400 revues savantes, répartis sur cinq étages, l’espace de la bibliothèque est désormais rempli et peine à répondre aux demandes des professeurs, des étudiants du CUD ainsi que de chercheurs d’autres institutions.

Le projet de la bibliothèque a pour but de rendre les collections traditionnelles plus accessibles et de les préserver ; de restaurer et de mettre en valeur une collection de livres du 15e au 18e siècle ; et de rendre disponible au public divers fonds donnés récemment au CUD (sur la bible, le cinéma, le développement international, la psychologie, etc).

Lire la suite …